Stitch Fix #5 – August 2015, Take TWO!

The long awaited package has arrived!  I guess the good thing about the sneak peeks you can make on your Fix after they are shipped, it doesn’t give away the color so that is always a surprise…and I got some GOOD ones!

What is Stitch Fix?  If you are reading this blog, you are trying to learn more about it, right?  Long story short, it is a styling website where you fill out a detailed style profile on yourself and then at the frequency of your choosing, a personal stylist will mail you 5 pieces of clothing or accessories and you can keep them and pay for them, or send them back, for free.  The styling fee is $20 and if you buy just one item, it gets credited towards the purchase price.  If you buy all 5 items, you get a 25% discount.

Ready to see what I got?  My first August Fix was a disaster and besides a necklace, it all went back.  Check out the pictures in my blog entry to see why.  Well, I admit I had very high expectations on this Fix after numerous E-mails back and forth with master Stitch Fix stylist, Katherine.  We talked about likes and dislikes, my blog, my Pinterest  page and she ensured me she would do her best to pick out items that not only I would like, that would fit.  Here is a note included in my Fix along with a picture of the packaged items in the box:

SF 2

SF 1

My heart sank a little when I read, “Since you prefer to keep your arms covered. . . ” – I don’t recall EVER mentioning this nor do I think any of the items I have pinned reflect this.  So, this was a little out of left field, was she really listening to me all this time or not?

Let’s find out!  First up, this pair of Dear John Lillie Cuffed Shorts in Blue, size 2, regular price of $58.

SF 7

SF 3

SF 11

Sorry, everyone – you are going to start seeing more of my phone and my face in these pictures because it is pretty impossible to take a good picture of yourself, showing off clothes!  I wish I had someone to take the pictures for me but just time for me, myself and I to do it.

I paired these adorable shorts with my Market & Spuce Sam Hi-Lo Short Sleeve Tee and the Zad necklace from my last Fix.  I think you could put any statement necklace with this tee and I have a hot pink one that would be cute too.  The shorts are super comfortable and soft with lots of stretch so I could see wearing these a lot.  I like the darker wash of these compared to the Old Navy ones I picked up last week so think those are going back.  So, as of right now, I plan to KEEP these.

Next, the Pixley Edmond Chevron Print Henley Shirt in Dark Purple, size XS, regular price of $54.

SF 9

SF 5

SF 12

Everyone is right, this shirt is super soft, stretch and really comfortable.  I paired it with a linen pair of Banana Republic shorts but you could wear dress pants, jeans, leggings, really anything with it to dress it up or down.  It fits well, the neck is a little low but I kind of like it like that.  I love the colors so right now, I believe I will KEEP this one too.

Then, we have the 41Hawthorn Filbert 3/4 Sleeve Popover Blouse in Turquoise, size XS, regular price of $58.

SF 8

SF 4

SF 13

First one, it felt too big – but just in length.  Everything else fits well, sleeves, neckline, shoulders so I thought, why not pair it with leggings and boots?  OH, I am so not ready for boots yet but it’s a light weight shirt so would transition well into fall.  I like the little cuff at the bottom – I took a side shot so you can see how flattering the cut is.

SF 14

Concerns?  It is very wrinkly, right out of the box and I am not much of an ironer.  So, that would be a little bit of a challenge.  I think I could wear this a lot, even for work with a pair of straight pants so I am leaning towards KEEPING this but still on the fence.

Last up is a little bit more of a wild card than Katherine said.  A PONCHO?  OK, I admit, last Fall, I did get my first poncho and it’s nice to keep toasty with the chilly air.  So, let’s give it a try.  This is the Skies Are Blue Lazio Poncho Cardigan in Colbolt, size XS, regular price of $48.

SF 15

SF 16

First, I am not wild about this print and this style truly perplexes me.  I had no idea what to wear under it so left it simple with the legging and boots from above and just threw on a simple tank.  I also put on the Zad Griselda Beaded Drape Necklace with it, regular price of $38, as my stylist suggested.  I am just not feeling it.  I love the necklace and actually am going to pair it with a pretty tank I found at a store called Francesca’s when I go out tonight.  So, I am definitely KEEPING the necklace but the poncho?  I don’t think so.

BUT, not so fast – based on how Stitch Fix works, if I kept 4 out of the 5 items I mentioned, it would cost me $188 but if I just keep all 5, it is only $172.  Crazy, right?  What if I didn’t get the long 41Hawthorn shirt?  It would take my total cost down to only $130, sending the poncho back.  Hmmm. . .so I guess I have something to think about, don’t I?  If you have any opinions on anything, I would love hear so please weigh in!

All in all, I am definitely happier with this Fix than my last.  I obviously have more communicating I need to do with my stylist about what I like and don’t like and I am still concerned that they don’t have enough petites or items sized small enough to fit me on a regular basis.  SO, I probably will keep using Stitch Fix but may adjust my shipment dates based on what I need when.  Maybe it will be once a month, maybe it will be every 2, who knows?  One thing I have learned is that in order to build up my wardrobe, I have just got to suck it up every couple of months and get out there in the stores too and see what I can find.  In just one short hour yesterday, I managed to find this tank at Sears on sale for only $12 and this other at Francesca’s for $19.98.  Both in my size and both exactly what I have been hoping Stitch Fix would send me:

Sears

Fran

So, I am definitely not dissing Stitch Fix but again, don’t think I personally can use it for my whole wardrobe – they just don’t have enough options for my size.

Would you like to try Stitch Fix for yourself?  If so, please use my referral link below and I will get a $25 credit after your first Fix ships!  Thanks so much for reading!

https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/5229780

Leave a Reply

