Bargain Shopping is Fun Too!

I have spent a tremendous amount of money on clothes lately.  Well, at least, tremendous for me.   I have been trying to do away with my bargain/discount shopping ways and finding some pieces I really love with Stitch Fix but all told, for 2 dresses, 1 pair of jean capris, 1 pair of jean shorts, 2 necklaces and 3 tops and a maxi skirt, I have spent $481.23.  Maybe that doesn’t sound like a lot and when you break it down my item, it averages about $48 each.  Not horrible, I completely understand but for me, A LOT of money to spend on clothes in 4 month’s time.

However, I can’t see to get myself to stop!  It has been so long since I just let myself go wild, getting things I actually love and need, that I keep thinking of more and more things I would like.  This weekend, I am returning those black jeans to Old Navy and looking for another pair that fit.  And can I just talk about the difference between the Stitch Fix jeans and the Old Navy ones I bought for a minute.  There is a VAST difference in material – the Stitch Fix jeans are much softer and are a much better fit than the Old Navy ones.  They are kind of scratchy and I have to keep pulling them up because the stretch in them doesn’t stretch quite right and they keep falling down!  But, that’s for another post.

I also got a chance to visit New Buffalo, Michigan yesterday which is a total tourist town, a destination for Chicago folks looking to get their boats out on the lake and stop for the day for a little shopping and food.  A friend told me about an upscale cosignment shop called, Posh and highly recommended we check it out.  Unfortunately, I didn’t know much about it and assumed since they offered brands like Prada and Gucci, they would be a little out of my league but I could not have been more wrong!  Here is a link to their Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Posh-New-Buffalo/139922922700620?fref=ts

It was amazing! Not only did they have higher end items from Burburry, Prada and the like but also normal name brands like Coach, Dooney and Burke, Lauren, Guess and so much more!  We could have spend hours in this store – purses, dresses, shoes, sunglasses, jewelry, so many beautiful things to look at and unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on how you want to look at it, I only had a chance to try on a handful of items and walked away with these 2 amazing deals:

Max Studio

If you have been following my Stitch Fix posts, I will admit this dress is VERY similiar to one I received from them in my first successful Fix.  However, I couldn’t pass it up.  Max Studio, super comfy and I am a sucker for kelly green.  The material makes it look super casual and this was an XS for only $12!

This second dress is MUCH fancier but fit like a glove and I think would be perfect for some holiday parties paired with tights and some high heeled low black booties – it’s off the shoulder and sexy, sexy.  The name brand is Laundry by Shelli Segal, which I know absolutely nothing about but upon Googling the name, it looks like their dresses sell at Nordstrom’s and Lord and Taylor for around $200 on average.  This one is a size 2 and I got it for only $58!

Laundry

So, one more shopping trip planned with my aunt and mom tomorrow and then I think I have to think about reining it in.  I have my next Fix scheduled for the last Saturday in September and between now and then, I really need to take stock of what items I need for fall.  If I get a chance, I may look for them myself in local stores before I turn to Stitch Fix to send them to me.  Stitch Fix is fun, don’t get me wrong but I definitely cannot afford to keep buying my entire box every time they send it.

If you would like to try Stitch Fix for yourself, please use my link below and I will get a $25 credit on your first shipment!  Happy shopping, all and thanks for reading!

https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/5229780

Leave a Reply

