It’s Not About the Number, BUT. . .

My husband and I are not morning people so there is a whole part of the day we tend to miss out on.  I think people wonder why it takes us so long to get up and going and hey, I am UP at 8 in the morning and busy, just not out of my PJs quite yet.  I like to stretch that out as long as possible and just kind of easy into my day.  A typical Sunday morning looks something like this:

8:00am – 8:15am – Roll out of bed, weigh myself, rub my eyes, clean my glasses, get dressed and out into the living room while hubby sleeps.

8:15am – 8:30am – Pick up the kitchen from the night before, fold a load of laundry in the dryer and put another in to dry.

8:30am – 8:45am – Make the coffee, give cats their morning medicine, catch up on my Words with Friends games

8:45am – 9am – Catch up on overnight Facebook posts and check my foodie page to make sure I don’t have any comments or messages that need to be returned.

There is a whole hour, GONE, just like that.  Then, Facebook usually takes up a tad bit more time than 15 minutes (i.e. an hour) then it’s bills, more laundry, writing up a grocery list, planning our meals for the week and on and on and on.

Why am I telling you this?  I don’t know, maybe in a pathetic attempt to justify my busy life and why I don’t like to be rushed around in the morning.  I like having plenty of time to step into my day with a plan because if I don’t, like yesterday, the first thing that gets put to the side are my work outs.  I still managed to get 13,733 steps yesterday so it’s not like I was just sitting around but I never managed to step on the treadmill, pick up some weights or do any Crossfit.

That’s been happening a lot in the past couple of weeks and it shows.  I know I have said many times before that your health and fitness should not just be judged by a number on a scale but how you feel and if your body can do all you want it to do. True.  Totally true.  But at the same time, you do recognize if your weight does keep creeping up, eventually unpleasant things start to happen.  Like your gorgeous new wardrobe won’t fit. All of those new clothes, hanging in your closet, some with the tags still on them, just waiting for the weather to turn colder so you can get dressed up and step out – GONE.

I’m not at that point yet but I am getting close.  I stopped tracking my food in Fitbit because I have just gotten burned out on it.  I know what I need to eat and not eat and I know the quantity.  Obsessively typing it in a computer program just adds around 30 minutes to an hour a day I just don’t care to give up.  I tracked my food for MANY years so it’s not like I’m not well versed in portion size, calories, carbs, fat or protein in any given food item.  Test me, just test me – I bet I can tell you pretty much anything and be pretty on the money!  Yet, despite all this knowledge, my weight has reached higher than it’s been in a long time.

Let’s just check and see the last time I have achieved this number.  Fitbit is great for that and again, being an accountant, I am all about the numbers.  Going back, here are the dates:

Fri, Sept 25th

Weds, Sept 2nd

Thurs, June 11th

Fri, June 5th

Fri, May 29th

Tues, Sept 30th – 2014!!!

Yes, that’s right.  Except for a few days here and there, I haven’t weighed this amount since September of last year.  I remember the frustration I felt then, just like I do not at that number going up so much and seemingly, for no good reason at all.  I haven’t changed much – eating the same, working out relatively the same. It is seasonal?  Is it something chemically or hormonally that takes place in my body this time of the year kind of like a bear storing up for winter?

Last year, around this time, I contacted an herbalist friend of mine and she got me on a whole regimen of herbs that really did help me.  My weight went down, I felt better, had more energy, less aches and pains so I stayed on it all winter long.  Then came out spring trip down to Florida and I was out of pills.  I went down and spent a glorious week on the beach, in the sun with the sand and surf and when we got home, I decided I didn’t need the pills any longer.  And you know what?  I really didn’t.  I felt completely fine and the weight stayed off.  Until now.

So, the question becomes, do I try the herbs again or do I reach for something else?  I stumbled across this Facebook page last night before bed and would love to take some time to learn more about it:

http://www.eattoperform.com/

Their website is rather difficult to use but the few articles or blog posts I’ve read so far have very interesting insight and suggestions on how to change your eating to get the fitness results you want.  I’m gonna guess I already know a lot of these little tips but hey, any new ideas I can get, I’ll take ’em.

So, stay posted – if I get back on the herbs, I will share with you, in  detail what they contain and what they are supposed to do.  I just wish I understood a little bit better why they worked so well before and why I haven’t needed them again up to this point.  Maybe because our bodies don’t respond immediately to changes, positively or negatively but take time to build up both ways?  Hopefully, I will figure it out soon before I wind up with a closet full of pants that won’t button!

Leave a Reply

