Eat To Perform – Week 3, Not Tracking Well

OK, I went on vacation and let’s just say I wasn’t exactly counting my grams of protein, fat and carbs while I was gone.  Today is officially week 3 on this program so thought I would break it down, by the numbers because as I have mentioned before, I’m an accountant so numbers are my life!

Days on program:  21

Days tracking food:  16

Days ended low on protein goal:  3

Weight change in 3 weeks:  +.1 pound

Body Fat change in 3 weeks:  +.6%

So, let’s look at this – weight is pretty much the same but unfortunately, body fat is increasing, not decreasing as expected which is NOT good.  The more body fat you have, the slower you burn calories which can’t be helpful, as I continue to eat more calories than I normally would.  I didn’t work out on vacation either but here are my workouts since I have returned:

Tuesday, October 20th:  40 minutes on the treadmill, 3.5 average mph

Weds, October 21st:  Free weight workout, 30 minutes

Thurs, October 22nd:  35 minutes on treadmill, 3.5 average mph

Friday, October 23rd:  30 minutes on treadmill, 5% incline, 3.4 average mph

Saturday, October 24th:  Crossfit workout, 30 minutes

Today I am shooting for 40 minutes of cardio and tomorrow will be Pilates.

So, a mere 5 days of vacation, without an incredibly amount of indulgence seems to have hurt my progress a great deal.  I think that’s what I find most frustrating – it’s like you work so hard and struggle to get your numbers down but in a matter of mere days, all of that hard work seems to just disappear in the blink of an eye.

I don’t want to gain anymore weight or I will start growing out of my current wardrobe.  I already am now able to comfortably fit in some work pants that have been sitting in the back of my closet for a year and a half because they were too big.  That is totally going in the wrong direction.

I am going to keep this up for at least another week or 2, hubby is telling me to be patient because he thinks I am doing all the right things now – and see if there is any improvement.  If not, I am going to have a hard time sticking with this.

I can tell you another frustrating part is having to drink these protein shake supplements every day.  EVERY DAY.  It is the only way to eat enough protein and I just get sick of eating the same thing, all the time.  The days I missed my protein goals are the days I skipped my shake and it shows.  I am still eating high protein, medium carb, medium fat meals the rest of the time so I get close but not up to 100 grams and I think any program that is what much of a struggle, isn’t realistic long term.

So, do I just suck it up and accept this is my body from here on out, do the best I can with my workouts and eating and keep letting the numbers slowly go up?  Or, do I go back to cutting my calories, watching everything I eat and making sacrifices on things I really enjoy to stay small?

I don’t know – I really have to think about it.  I say I don’t care what size I am but let’s be honest, that’s really a lie.  I DO care, who wants to have to buy a whole new wardrobe every 3-5 years because your weight is slowing but surely creeping up?  It’s a matter of comfort too – I am comfortable at my old weight and my old body fat, I miss that part of myself as I try to get used to this new body.  I just need to keep my focus positive – on being strong, being healthy, being mobile, being able to do all of the things I physically want to do.  Putting healthy things in my body and avoiding the unhealthy, unnatural and processed items as much as I can.  If I am going to splurge and have my absolute favorite thing – sweets, it is going to be the absolute best quality I can get.  No Hostess, Little Debbie or pre-packaged garbage for me!

Stay tuned – I am sure I am making mistakes with this program and reading the articles, it all sounds very complicated and overwhelming.  But, we all need to remember that every little thing we do to improve our health is worth it.  Putting the focus on ourselves and making our health a priority is an important use of our time, however, we personally decide to do it.  Your time commitment is your choice – I realize I will never be a professional athletic, like some of these people I am reading about and that’s OK.  I don’t want to be.  I just want to be me.

Leave a Reply

