Sweets are My Downfall

I am closing in on week 4 on Eat to Perform and still, it isn’t going as I had hoped.  I have discussed this with my hubby and he still claims that 4 weeks isn’t long enough to know if it is going to be successful or not but I am still on the fence if I will continue or not.  I keep trying to think about where I may be going wrong and the only thing I can come up with is I just eat too many darn sweets.  I have cut WAY back from what I personally would like to eat and have for a long time.  However, the past couple of weeks especially, have been tough as we get closer to Halloween.  And what does Halloween mean?  CANDY!

I have tried to allow myself no more than 1-2 pieces of candy a day and have stuck pretty much with that.  I still have a candy dish full of candy corn in my living room that’s been sitting there for a month (I know, YUCK!) that I have managed not to wolf down and probably will end up throwing away.  I usually eat 1-2 pieces of dark chocolate per day in the form of Hershey Kisses, Hershey Nuggets with Almonds or Dove Promises.  Then, there is the occasion treat at work or a foodie dinner – a mini cupcake here, a scoop of ice cream there, a small piece of cake here.  I NEVER eat all of it and strive to take the smallest serving I can or only eat half of what I am served.  I do refuses sweets every now and again but admittedly, that is few and far between.

But, could these little treats be sabotaging everything else I have changed?  I am still eating 90-110 grams of protein a day and let me just say, as of this week, I am officially SICK of meat.  Sure, you can get protein from other sources like nuts, eggs, milk, cheese, yogurt and protein shakes, all of which I eat but I am sick of it all!  I miss things like apple. . .can I eat an apple?  OF COURSE but when I am trying to get that much protein, you kind of have to be choosy about what you eat and don’t eat.  Apples have no protein so that just means I have to balance that apple with a protein source with less carbs.

It just seems like this eating plan isn’t practical if you are the type of person who likes a wide variety of food and not eating the same things over and over again.  I talked it over with my husband last night – we are very bad about including a few, very helpful things in our diet.  Veggies – we are awful about eating veggies.  Not that we don’t like them but it is pretty low on the list of things we think to prepare.  Fish and seafood is another one.  Again, not that we don’t like it but I don’t think either one of us is very skilled or knowledgeable in preparing it so we have a tendency to focus our main protein sources for our meat on chicken and beef with the occasional pork thrown in there.  Also, I know beans would be good too – more carby than meat but still good for the diet and good sources of protein too.

So, I think if I continue this, I need to come up with a better go to list of meals that give me the variety I crave as well as ease of preparation.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a ton of time to cook but the idea of making a giant dish of chicken breasts and rice to eat for an entire week just sounds boring to me.  I will give you the specific numbers after Sunday but I can tell you NOTHING has budged and the body fat continues to go UP.  Totally the wrong direction.  If I can’t get a handle on it soon, Eat to Perform is going right out the window!

Leave a Reply

