Eat to Perform – Week 4

Well, no progress yet.  Here is the breakdown for ya:

Days on program:  28

Days tracking food:  22

Days ended low on protein goal:  4

Weight change in 3 weeks:  +.2 pound

Body Fat change in 3 weeks:  +.4%

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have committed to trying this program for 3 full months.  My husband is very health conscious, very physically fit and he claims that any big changes like this don’t happen overnight and it takes a while for your body to get used to it.  OK, so 3 months will take me right until the end of 2015.  A great place to make a new beginning if I need to.

Here are my workouts for the week, for those who are curious:

Monday, October 26th – 40 minutes of Pilates

Tuesday, October 27th:  Break day

Weds, October 28th:  Break day

Thurs, October 29th:  40 minutes on treadmill, 3.5 average mph

Friday, October 30th:  30 minutes on treadmill, 5% incline, 3.4 average mph

Saturday, October 31st:  5K charity walk, finished in the blistering time of 1 hour and 20 minutes.

Sunday, Nov 1st – ANOTHER Break day

So, you can see – I only worked out 4 out of the last 7 days and didn’t get any weight workouts in, so not good.  I did walk with weights on the treadmill, to try and add a little more resistance and increase the intensity but I have to be very careful doing that.  If I push myself too hard, I find myself getting a little unsteady as I walk and the last thing I want to do is slip, fall and kill myself, a la Yahoo CEO’s husband.  Not good.

I will keep posting my results once a week throughout this whole experience and as I come across new food ideas, I will share them too.  As I also mentioned before, I am getting burned out on eggs and meat for my protein and am almost out of my protein shakes.  I have been doing a little bit of research online to find some options with more natural ingredients and it is tough.  I do not like the powder forms of shakes and smoothies, it has to be prepackaged and mixed for me to drink it, end of story.  Hubby has already tried to sell me on mixing my own because then you have control over what ingredients go into it but I’m sorry, it just isn’t practical for me because I know I won’t do it.  I need something I can just grab and go.

As soon as I get through this work week, I am going to try really hard to research meal recipes with the right mix of carb, fat and protein grams ahead of time so each week, all I have to do is go to my list and pick one to make each week.  I know the holidays will be tough but luckily, most of the meals focus on meat and as long as you don’t overindulge on the sweets, there actually are a lot of things you can eat and see meet your goals.

Finally, I know one of my biggest downfalls will be alcohol.  I love a glass of wine, a cocktail, a martini when hanging with friends and family and that just adds empty calories.  As Eat to Perform maintains, you shouldn’t have to give up ANYTHING, just keep it in moderation but since you are only tracking fat, protein and carb grams and not necessarily calories, it is very easy to forget about those pesky alcohol calories.  I am tracking everything on a spreadsheet, which includes a calorie overage or deficiency daily.  I am shooting to be slightly under, if at all possible so I can still have a glass of wine and not feel guilty.  However, I can’t do that at the expense of giving my body the fuel it needs for this to work.  But, when will it work?  What will be the magical tipping point when the body fat starts going down and I get stronger in my workouts?  I honestly don’t know but I’m not there yet.  I don’t feel like I have made too many compromises yet – I go out and dine with friends, I don’t work out every day but man, that protein goal is TOUGH.

We will see how the next 2 months go!

Leave a Reply

