Eat To Perform – Week 5

Nope, nothing.  I feel like a broken record here and one magical day, I am going to wake up and whatever is supposed to be happening on this program will have started.  5 weeks and we aren’t there yet.  Here is the breakdown for ya:

Days on program:  35

Days tracking food:  29

Days ended low on protein goal:  7 (less than 95 grams, shooting for 100-110)

Weight change in 5 weeks:  +.3 pound

Body Fat change in 3 weeks:  0% change

And here are my workouts for the past week:

Monday, November 2nd– 40 minutes of Pilates

Tuesday, November 3rd:  Break day

Weds, November 4th:  40 minutes of Crossfit with personal trainer

Thurs, November 5th:  40 minutes on treadmill, 3.5 average mph

Friday, November 6th:  Break day

Saturday, November 7th:  3 hours of shopping with friend plus housework, Total Daily Steps = 10,885

Sunday, November 8th – Day of house work plus 30 minutes on treadmill at 3.4 mph (I was tired and just couldn’t go any faster).  Total Daily Steps = 14,937

Should errands or house work count as exercise?  Probably not but when you have a desk job like me, anything that gets you up and moving is a good thing.  It isn’t specifically working on building any muscle but is still tiring, just the same.

I actually saw the scale hit the highest weight and the highest body fat I’ve had a in a long, long time so like I mentioned last week, I worry that this new program isn’t working.  Eat to Perform posts at least 3 articles a day on their Facebook page but look out!  Don’t try and ask them anything or tips from other users or people trying to same program because they want you to pay $9.95 a month for the training tips and meal plan.  Not a huge expense, especially when you can just pay $50 for the whole year, if you do it at one time but I am just not ready to make that commitment yet.

First, I don’t plan to make working out my career.  I am not looking to compete at Crossfit gyms, I don’t plan to run a marathon.  Or a half marathon.  Or even a 5K any time soon. I know I could do better on my eating (Halloween candy is ALMOST gone!) but compared to 90% of the population, I am guessing I do pretty damn good.  I refuse to give up nights out with my friends, I refuse to give up certain foods as bad forever and Eat to Perform says you don’t have to do that.  Hmmm…you definitely have to be doing SOMETHING different than what I am to get results or I would think I would have seen something by now.

I have been keeping my calories right around the target their calculator give me, working really hard to keep my protein grams up and even had a mini melt down in Costco when I ran out of my favorite protein shakes and the line was 6 people deep to get a membership with no end in sight.  The point is – I’m trying.

So, I plug on but feel like I need to make some adjustments to make this work – I’m just not sure exactly what.  I don’t feel like I have a tremendously more energy for my workouts than I did before, to push myself harder.  In fact, when I went to my first boot camp class in about a month on Weds, I was hobbling around like a 90 year old woman for THREE DAYS, my ass and legs hurt so bad.  The trainer said, oh the muscle soreness and fatigue just tells you it’s working.  So, I’m supposed to feel like crap in order to be stronger in the long run?  And what happens if I don’t keep this up?  Does it all go to hell in a hand basket and I basically go right back to where I started if I am side lined with an illness or injury for a few weeks?

I don’t know – I will always work out regularly, I will always watch what I eat and try to make good choices but it is all about how far you are willing to go, how many changes you are willing to permanently make in your life to be as healthy as possible.   Should I give up drinking alcohol altogether?  Is that what’s holding me back – my 1 drink a day average? I wish I knew the magic formula but all I can do is keep at it and hope this body gets in gear soon.

I pulled out a pair of pants I hadn’t wore in a good 3 weeks this morning for work and I tell you what, I had a tough time buttoning them.  They are on but definitely tighter than they were when I bought them a month or 2 ago.  I guess that’s what frustrating me most of all?  Am I actually hurting myself right now, rather than helping?

Leave a Reply

